Drake University Stands

Weaver Medal of Honor


The Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences will award its highest honor, the 2019 Lawrence C. and Delores M. Weaver Medal of Honor, to Iowa pharmacists Eugene (Gene) and Susan Lutz. The Weaver Medal of Honor is awarded annually to an individual who has advanced the college’s education, research or outreach mission for the benefit of human health; has made a substantial impact on the profession of pharmacy, or has provided financial support that has led to strategic change and progress in the College. The Lutzes will receive the Weaver Medal of Honor and deliver a free public lecture at 2 p.m. on April 24, in Sheslow Auditorium.



Gene is a past president of the Iowa Pharmacy Association (1982-83) and the American Pharmacists Association-Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management. (APhA-APPM). He served two terms on the APhA Board of Trustees (2006-2012) and as President of APhA (2004-2006).  He also served two terms on the APhA Foundation Board of Directors (2008-2014) and three terms on the Christian Pharmacists Fellowship International Board of Directors (2008-2014 & 2017-2020) and as Vice President (2015-2017). He has also been active internationally as a member of the Executive Committee of the Community Pharmacy Section of the Federation of International Pharmacy (FIP) 2006 to 2014.


Gene and Susan owned and operated Lutz Pharmacy and Lutz Long Term Care Pharmacy in Altoona from 1974 to 2012. They now own Lutz Pharmacist Services, a consulting and relief pharmacist firm in Altoona, Iowa. Susan Lutz is currently Vice President and Secretary of Lutz Pharmacist Services. She provides consultant pharmacist services to facilities serving persons with intellectual disabilities and traditional nursing home environments. She also works “as needed” in various Iowa pharmacy practice sites. Gene does part-time relief work for several pharmacies in Iowa. They have been married for nearly 52 years, have 2 daughters and six grandchildren.


Wednesday, April 24 at 2 PM
Lecture and Award Ceremony
Sheslow Auditorium, Old Main

Reception at 3:30 - 5:30 PM
Hoyt Sherman Place Art Gallery
1501 Woodland Ave.
Des Moines, IA

Questions? Contact Renae Chesnut, Dean, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences at (515) 271-2883 or renae.chesnut@drake.edu


  1. Step 1 Selection
  2. Step 2 Registration
Wednesday April 24
2:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Weaver Medal of Honor Lecture, Award Ceremony, and Reception.
Event registration summary
CPHS Weaver Medal of Honor: