National Alumni Board Directory

The individuals who serve on the Drake University National Alumni Board of Directors are serious about the Alumni Association's mission of providing its alumni with a channel for their "imaginative and meaningful participation in the life and future of the University."

National Alumni Board Group 2019

Nominated by a committee of the Alumni Association Board, directors serve three-year terms and meet on campus three times per year, serving on on a variety of committees focused on programming, student recruitment, marketing, and fundraising for the University. Board meetings are open to all alumni.


Meet the Board

Martha Capps

Martha Capps, JO'78

VP of Client Services
Hanley Wood Marketing

Eden Prairie, MN

Email Me
John Miller

John V. Miller, BN'82

National Sales & Underwriting Manager
Piper Jaffrey

Lenexa, KS

Email Me
David Beall

David Beall, BN'81

Bizability Group

Orange, CA

Rachel (Dystra) Boon

Rachel (Dykstra) Boon, ED'99, GR'02

Chief Academic Officer
Board of Regents

Des Moines, IA

Shawn Burke

Shawn Burke, LW’87

Senior Account Executive
Thomson Reuters

Des Moines, IA

Kelly Caldbeck

Kelly Caldbeck, PH'01

Senior Resource Specialist
LivWell Seniors

Des Moines, IA

Hijinio Carreon

Hijinio Carreon, AS’99

Chief Medical Officer

Des Moines, IA

Timothy Coonan

Timothy Coonan, AS'96, LW'02

Government Relations Special Counsel
Davis Brown Law Firm

Des Moines, IA

Kristopher Covi

Kristopher Covi, AS'95

McGrath North

Omaha, NE

Drew Engebrecht

Drew Engebrecht, BN'02

Account Executive/Shareholder
Holmes Murphy

Waukee, IA

John Farmer

John Farmer, AS'92

VP of Litigation
Charter Communications

St. Louis, MO

Drew Gulley

Drew Gulley, AS'05

Business Partner
Piper Sandler

Minneapolis, MN

No Photo Available

Brian Harms, AS'89

Bulldog Vending

Sun City, AZ

Sally Holmberg

Sally (Liechty) Holmberg, ED'63, GR'69, GR'83, GR'94


Pleasant Hill, IA

Lauren Hong

Lauren Hong, AS'07

Out & About Communications

San Diego, CA

Ken-Matt Martin

Ken-Matt Martin, JO'12

Artistic Director
Victory Gardens Theater

Chicago, IL

Chris McDonnell

Chris McDonnell, JO'05

McDonnall Wealth Management

Orland Park, IL

Laurel Rundle

Laurel Rundle, JO'91

Aha! Marketing

Chicago, IL

Jeff Seaman

Jeff Seaman, BN'03

Senior VP

Phoenix, AZ

Nikki Syverson

Nikki (Coffman) Syverson, JO'03

Capital Crossroads

Clive, IA

Jenny Tran Johnson

Jennifer Tran-Johnson, AS'06

Drake University

Des Moines, IA

Seejo Valacheril

Seejo Valacheril, BN’12

Client Account Executive

Chicago, IL

Jim Verlengia

Jim Verlengia, GR'90, GR'95


Johnston, IA



Ex-Officio Members

If you need to contact someone specifically you can reach out to them via their contact information below.

Lynn Bolinger

Lynn Bolinger, AS'93

Consumer Marketing Manager, Dotdash Meredith

LGBTQ+ Chair

Alexis Davis

Alexis Davis, JO'12, GR'17

Strategic Communications Project Manager
United Way of Central Iowa

Black Alumni Chair 

Tom Florian

Tom Florian, BN’14, GR’16

Director, Membership and Growth
West Des Moines Chamber of Commerce



Supporters just like you help to make a difference every day.