RaySociety Leadership & Governance

The RaySociety is led by various members of the Drake Campus and community. Current leadership and governance are listed below. Click here to read the RaySociety's By-Laws.

2018-19 RaySociety Council

The RaySociety Council provides leadership and direction to ensure that the purpose of the RaySociety is fulfilled. Council members provide oversight for program creation, financial management, community outreach, membership recruitment and retention, all in compliance with Drake policies and procedures. The 2018-19 RaySociety Council Members are listed below.

  • Denny Davis
  • Allan Demorest
  • Karen Diltz
  • Mary Doidge
  • Mike Glover
  • Bob Haskins
  • Paul Horvath
  • Martha James
  • Carl Johnson
  • Bill Meek
  • Gloria Morris
  • Dana Petrowsky Ward
  • Ken Popken
  • Phyllis Swink
  • Jon Torgerson
  • Sue Wright

Executive Committee

The executive committee is formed and is comprised of the president, vice president, secretary, treasurer, and the chairs of the standing committees. The society manager and the university liaison will serve as ex-officio, non-voting members. The committee shall conduct the business of the society as necessary between meetings of the council.

  • President - Gloria Morris
  • Vice President - Bob Haskins
  • Secretary - Martha James
  • Treasurer - Ken Popken
  • Programming Chair - Denny Davis

Committee Chairs

The chair of each standing committee is charged with carrying out the duties of the committee as defined below.

Events & Socials Committee Chair - Karen Diltz
The Events & Socials Committee will identify opportunities for on-campus and community activities to present in conjunction with the RaySociety classes, and will coordinate with the RaySociety staff to implement and oversee activities.

Marketing & Membership Committee Chair - Dana Petrowsky Ward
The Marketing & Membership Committee will devise and implement strategies for membership recruitment and retention. The committee will work in coordination with the RaySociety staff to implement and oversee promotional activities.

Nominating Committee Chair - Jon Torgerson
The Nominating Committee will prepare a slate of nominees to fill vacant positions on the council. Committee membership shall consist of the RaySociety Manager, two current Council members and at least two additional society members.

Programming Committee Chair - Denny Davis
The Programming Committee will identify topics and develop classes to be offered by the RaySociety in the Fall and Spring semesters. The committee will work in coordination with the RaySociety staff to implement and oversee classes offered.

Ex Officio

The University liaison to the society is the Vice President of University Advancement or his/her designee and serves as ex-officio on the council, functioning as the representative of the University to the society with the responsibilities of providing counsel and direction as necessary to maintain a strong and positive working relationship.

  • Billie Ray
  • John Smith, Vice President for Advancement, Drake University

RaySociety Staff

  • Nicole Daniel, Manager
  • Vici Bice, Program Development Associate
  • Beth Willem, Administrative Assistant
RaySociety Logo

Supporters just like you help to make a difference every day.