Alumni Awards ceremony


Thursday, April 25
4:00 PM reception
4:45 PM ceremony

Distinguished Alumni Award

Don Fletcher, BN’67, will receive the Distinguished Service Award for 2013. Fletcher is the former president of Hallmark and the immediate past president and chair of the Drake University Board of Trustees, on which he has served as a strong advocate for the University for many years. He and his wife Carol recently made a commitment to support student scholarships at Drake.

Alumni Achievement Award

Roxanne Conlin, LA'64, LW'66, GR'79, and Brian Wansink, GR’84, will both receive the 2013 Alumni Achievement Award. 

Conlin is a successful attorney who served as U.S. district attorney and assistant attorney general for the State of Iowa. Most recently, the National Law Journal recognized Conlin among the 50 most influential women lawyers, the 100 most influential lawyers, and top 10 litigators in the United States.

Wansink is a nationally known expert on consumer behavior and nutritional science and author of the best selling book, Mindless Eating. He played a critical role in the recent evaluation of the USDA Food Pyramid and is the John Dyson Professor of Marketing and the director of the Cornell Food and Brand Lab in the Department of Applied Economics and Management at Cornell University, Ithaca, New York. 

Alumni Loyalty Award

Ron Snow, PH'81, will receive the 2013 Alumni Loyalty Award. Snow is a manager of professional and college relations for CVS Caremark. He is serving as chairman of the President's Circle Board, as a member of the Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences National Advisory Council, and previously served nine years on the National Alumni Board. He has been an active alumni volunteer in his community of Indianapolis, hosting annual gatherings for Drake alumni and students.

Young Alumni Achievement Award

Amy Thompson Ohde, BN'98, will receive the Young Alumni Achievement Award. Ohde is director of field operations, southwest region for Chick-Fil-A, and was the first female business leader in her position in the history of the company. She was a letterwinner in softball at Drake.  

Young Alumni Loyalty Award

Emily Reis Abbas, JO'97, GR'09, will receive the Young Alumni Loyalty Award. Abbas is director of customer value management for Aviva USA. She volunteers heavily with student engagement through the School of Journalism and Mass Communication and the Student Alumni Association. She also serves on the National Alumni Board and is a dedicated Drake sports attendee and serves as a public relations capstone adviser.  

Community Service Award

Udell Cason FA'65, GR'70, will receive the Community Service Award. Cason is a former Des Moines Public Schools principal (Moore Elementary School) and has made significant contributions to community and youth initiatives through the YMCA and the Willkie House. He is a previous Double D Award winner, current Drake Relays official, and was the first African-American elementary principal in the Des Moines Public Schools.